The EUF Lavanchy Award

Award Criteria

The EUF Lavanchy Award is presented by the European Underwater Federation. The award is presented to honour the vision of diving pioneer Jack Lavanchy, a former Life Honorary Vice President of the EUF, who was personally instrumental in the initial development and growth of European recreational diving. During his lifetime, Jack strived tirelessly to and persuade the members of the diving community to work together for the good of the sport and the benefit of divers everywhere.

The Lavanchy Award is presented annually to an individual who has made a significant and sustained contribution towards the responsible development of the European diving community. The award is usually presented at the Dusseldorf Boot show in January of each year. Nominations for the award must be submitted to the Secretary General of the EUF by the 15th November of the previous year. Nominations must be made by email using the nomination form and sent to

The criteria for the award are as follows:

The candidates for a particular year will first be screened as suitable by the EUF Board, then voted on by the members of the EUF.

Download the Award criteria

Download the Award Nomination form